Shopping for Kids..A Headache in Itself


Since summer is here I have been getting rid of winter clothing for my kids and I have a large bag of clothes. Now you might say that’s good for 2 kids but for my budget that’s not good. I try to buy my kids big sizes so that they can at least wear clothes for 2 winters my son I has been doing good but this little girl of mine outgrows clothes and shoes like the  weeds that grow in my front yard. I usually stay on budget when it comes to buying my kid’s clothing and shoes.When  shopping my rules are:

  • 10 outfits for the summer for each of them and
  • 10 outfits for the winter for each of them.
  • As far as shoes I don’t buy a bunch of different colors I only buy shoes in white, black, and brown.
  • I buy them each a pair in  each color and I buy the next size up so they wear it for a while.
  • For the summer I buy flip-flops( or other  cheap shoes) that I pay no more than 10 dollars for.

After all of this strategizing, I still  find it still hard to shop for them with a budget in mind. Even though I use layaway the clothes are still costing me an arm and a leg.  After asking for advice, many people have told me to go to garage sales or consignment stores to shop; however, I don’t know how I feel about getting clothes second hand especially when I don’t really know where they came from. If I do get used clothes it’s from people I know.

I even shop at places that are reasonable like: Target, Children’s Place, Old Navy, etc. but I still spend a lot of money for my kids to grow out of within the next year. Even though I hate to get clothes from other people I was thinking of maybe starting a website for moms who have gently used clothing that they want to sell( or give away) to others. Maybe they have clothes that their kids never wore and they want to make sure they go to a good home that will appreciate them.

What do you think about this idea? How do you shop for your kids for each season? Any tips or advice?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shopping for Kids..A Headache in Itself

  1. Caramel Glam says:

    girl you are too funny. there is nothing wrong with second hand clothes. buy them then wash them add a little pinesol to the washer (as a disinfectant). you can get some items that are brand new.

    what is the difference if you use your site or go to a consignment shop? you still don’t know the ppl.

  2. Kita says:

    The site wont be for me it’s for others who want an easier way to shop for consignment clothes. I have no problem getting clothes from people I know I am funny when it comes to places like goodwill or cosignment stores for used clothes. I have never shopped at cosignment places not saying I never will but it’s just the idea of I don’t know where the clothes came from or who they came from. I am very picky about certain stuff and this is one of them.

  3. I don’t have a method for shopping for my girls. I usually purchase a few pair of shoes (fashion & snow boots, flats, uggs, dress & play sandles, gym shoes) and numerous outfits. However, I’m not opposed to used clothes, I just never think to go to consignment stores for kid clothes.

    p.s. After reading over my post it sounds like I shop too much! LOL!

  4. LOL… I need to do that because between Lil Mama and the baby I am always buying clothes… But I have gotten smarter since I usually shop at Gap and Old Navy for my oldest son I save all of his clothes. Gap and Old Navy recycle their styles all the time so I can give them to the baby…

Leave a Reply

