Tired of the Mounting Grocery Bills


This morning I went to my local grocery store to stock up on less than 20 items and guess what the bill was when I finished checking out? $100! I was disgusted, shocked and financially sick. I know that I used to be able to go into a grocery store and with $100 get at least a basket full of groceries. Sadly, that is not the case anymore. Sure I have two more children and this recession has sent grocery items skyrocketing but that is no excuse for prices to be steadily increasing!

For example, two years ago I could have gotten a container of 4 oz. Yoplait yogurt for $.50..now I pay $.08 more! While this may seem petty, for a household of 5 increases can seriously hurt our pockets. So am I going to stop contributing to my children’s college fund? NEGATIVE. Am I going to stop buying groceries? DOUBLE NEGATIVE. This is what I decided I am going to do from this point on…I am going to become a Coupon Diva. Yes, I have been catching glimpses of TLC’s Extreme Couponing but I just thought it was too much but the more I think about it the more I realize this is right up my alley. I am off for the entire summer so this will help me make my time more productive.

So here is my plan to becoming a Couponing Diva….

  1. Collect all of the coupons I can think get my hands on. If you are reading this blog, please inbox me and send me all of your current COUPONS.
  2. Organize these coupons by grocery aisle (cereal, dairy, dry goods,etc) and put them in a huge photo album with plastic sleeves. This will make the process painless when I go to the grocery store.
  3. Plan my monthly grocery list and STICK to it. THat means if it is not on the list, DO NOT BUY IT. I am bad about just throwing things in a basket but I must do better.
  4. Start to stalk the grocery/drug store sales ads and couponing blogs. This is the key.. to getting super deals.
As I embark on this journey, please pray for my family as I become a Nazi in the Grocery Department… Do you have any ideas??
About @Theeducatorsroom

An advocate of public education. You can't scare me, I TEACH!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tired of the Mounting Grocery Bills

  1. YUMMommy says:

    I follow several couponing blogs that do store matchups. You can also get coupons online from coupons.com, red plum & smart source.

  2. I’m just trying to find good coupons. Everything I do find seems to be totally useless to this household. There’s only 2 of us — Me and my husband. We buy milk, eggs, coffee creamer (way too much, I swear, and it’s only me drinking it), cereal, toilet paper, etc. yet we can never find coupons that are suitable for our shopping needs.

    Any tips on how and where to find good coupons? I’d like to figure out a way to get our shopping expenses from $150 a paycheck (which I think is ridiculous for 2 people) to maybe half of that? Hell, even dropping it to $100 would be a blessing. I’m tired of spending so much money unnecessarily.

Leave a Reply

